Journalism department brings home the gold

On April 26-27, at the University of Texas, both the newspaper and yearbook programs received statewide achievement awards from the Interscholastic League Press Conference or ILPC. Both El Paisano and The Featherduster received Gold Star awards for the print issue and The Featherduster online received a Silver Star.

“We thought that we were getting a Silver Star for our print issue,” Featherduster co-editor-in-chief junior Rachel Cooper said. “So when they didn’t call our name in the Silver Star group we got nervous and upset because we thought that we might not have won anything at all. We were thrilled when they called our name at the end and we got a Gold Star.”

On top of these group achievements, 31 yearbook and 45 newspaper awards were given for stories, designs and photos. Senior Hannah Turner received an honorable mention for her story “Breaking barriers.”

“It’s always nice to get recognition for the whole issue, because we worked on it as a team, but it’s special in a different regard to receive a personal award and to be recognized for my personal contribution,” Hannah said.

Newspaper teacher Deanne Brown was also recognized for excellence in teaching, and received the Max R. Haddick Teacher of the Year Award.

“The award ceremony at ILPC was a fun way to celebrate the success of the 2013 yearbook,” yearbook teacher Cindy Todd said. “Getting the Gold Star was the icing on the cake. Having Mrs. Brown recognized as Teacher of the Year made the occasion all the more special to us.”